retake or not...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xjoohn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am currently a sophomore attending university in my state majoring in Chemistry. I fooled around and partied too much my first semester of freshmen yr and got a C- in general chemistry I and C+ in calculus I. After realizing how bad it was for dentistry, I managed to get A-'s in gen chem 2, ochem 1, and probably (hopefully) in ochem 2 as well. I'm pretty sure I can get A's if I retook gen chem 1 and calc I so should I take them or just continue with upper level classes? Also should I take calculus II instead of taking I over again?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

i will retake them and will not make the same mistake again

I will not take classes that have already been taken unless the school does not take courses below a C-

Members don't see this ad :)
Retake because schools won't accept any prereqs that are below a C...

Personally I wouldn't retake it. More important then A's in everything is having an upward trend, which you do.......Alot of schools think that shows character and might show how you are dedicated.

Yikes, okay I'm going to have to retake gen chem 1 at least.

As for calculus, should I? I mean is calculus something dental schools find very important? I rather take calc II and do better on it...

it's not that staunch imo

i had a D+ in one of my chems and i got offers

i know other kids who have similar experiences too

but i came from a school that didn't let you retake anything unless you got an F

idk if that made it an exception

Retake only because many dental schools won't ACCEPT (-------------- grades that are below C.

Good luck!

Retake only because many dental schools won't ACCEPT (-------------- grades that are below C.

Good luck!