Retaking undergrad courses

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ELECTROLITE80

Medical Examiner 2 B
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All:

I posted this on the nontraditional thread this morning, but also thought it would benefit me to post this here as well, so here goes.

I graduated in 2002 with a really low GPA, I was just lazy, there are no excuses for it.

As of now, I've been completing the prerequisite courses for med school and I have a 3.67 so far.

However, since I received so many C's while in undergrad, I would like to retake those courses to earn a better grade (luckily you can retake any course you want at my alma mater). At the school I attended, when you've been out of school for a while and retake courses, it becomes a new GPA, your old grades don't change (which is fine by me). I have to admit, when I reviewed my transcript and saw what I did not do well in, I became so angry with myself because they were courses that I could have pulled an "A" in, but just didn't apply myself...:mad:

I also want to take more upper level science courses since I have a degree in Media Studies and it was not a science intensive program.

Would it be in my best interest to retake some of my courses from undergrad over to raise my GPA. I know that my undergrad GPA puts me at a disadvantage, even if I have a high science GPA. I really want to become a doctor, this may sound cliche, but I've never wanted to be or do anything more, so I'm more than willing to do what it takes. But I also wanted to get the advice from folks who have been in my shoes to see what you all may have done or experienced.

Any input is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Steph :D

Members don't see this ad.

What your school does with your undergrad grades is irrelevant. The med school application service will recalculate an application GPA for you based on its own rules: