Retook the MCAT and did worse :( do I still have a shot?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Saf1

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
sGPA 3.4
cGPA 3.6
First MCAT 28R - 9VR, 11PS, 8BS
Recent MCAT I got back today 24R - 9VR, 8PS, 7BS

2.5 years different research, including clinical, benchtop, and field
2 years officer positions
3 years tutoring
1 year scribing full time
3 years on university health advisory board
1 year volunteering once a week at community clinic
1 year teaching sunday school

I don't know what happened :( I wasn't even averaging close to that. I was shooting for the 30 completely and I just ended up doing worse.

I applied broadly OOS already with MD schools that were near or close to my stats, and I'm a texas resident so I applied to all the Texas schools. That was all submitted before I saw this.

I'll be applying to a lot of DO schools, but my question is do I still even have a shot? MD Schools? DO schools? Will they only consider my most recent score or will they look at both? Average?

I looked at the scores today and was completely crushed.

Members don't see this ad.

I think MD is out of question. DO school might have been in reach with your GPA but doing worse on MCAT retake will raise red flags. I think you should not apply until you can raise your score to 26-27 for a shot at DO schools. Don't rush into taking it for the sake of applying. Take your time and then take MCAT

sGPA 3.4
cGPA 3.6

3 years tutoring

I don't know what happened :( I wasn't even averaging close to that. I was shooting for the 30 completely and I just ended up doing worse.

I applied broadly OOS already with MD schools that were near or close to my stats, and I'm a texas resident so I applied to all the Texas schools. That was all submitted before I saw this.