Returning to the UK to study Medicine - Please Help?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MackJ01

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there everyone!

I'm just wondering if anyone knows how my current situation will pan out, I'm debating career paths right now!

So I'm an international undergraduate student, from the UK, studying at Yale (currently a Sophomore). I'm planning on majoring in Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, and have a current GPA of about 3.6 (hope to raise to a 3.7/75).

I have always held Medical school as a potential career path, but wasn't sure after finishing high school (as to why I chose to study in the US instead of doing Undergrad Medicine in the UK), however after shadowing a doctor over Summer (2016) and researching more, I'm certain that med school is the path for me.

However, gaining admission to a US medical school as an intl student is nigh-impossible so I would have to return to the UK and apply for an accelerated 4-year course! (which I am ok with). I love the look of Oxford's programme, but these courses are EXTREMELY competitive and I'm wondering whether or not I can be considered competitive having a non-UK degree? Has anyone heard of anyone doing this?

Also, I'm guessing the undergrad 'pre-med' requirements aren't necessary for UK entry as they are specific to US medical schools?

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated! Thank you so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Mack!

I am also a pre-med Biology student interested in UK graduate entry medicine,but I am an international student to the UK, :p
I did a little research on UK GEM programmes and found some interesting stuff.

Competitiveness of Oxford