Rheumatology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bigfrank

SDN Donor
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Could someone comment on this subspecialty of IM, specifically as far as patients/diseases encountered, lifestyle, salary, etc.? I'd appreciate it.

What types of injections/interventions are possible?

Thanks,

Frank

Members don't see this ad.

Sort of sad to see “all” of this activity on this topic.

I’ve been doing adult rheumatology at a tertiary referral center, not a medical school, but a private hospital where med students rotate and we do have internal medicine and other residents at our hospital. I have been doing this for about 25 years.

I picked rheum because as an intern I was going into radiology, and then I got drafted into the Navy and I spent 2 years as a GMO (general medical officer). I found out that once you got away from “academics” medicine and taking care of patients was fun! I than was an ER doc (in the old days, before you needed a residency for 3 more years trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.

I picked rheum for a couple of reasons. First of all, everywhere I went there were good cardiologists, GI docs, etc. who could help me with tough cases, but I had NEVER had a rheumatologist help me with patient care! Given the competition, I figured I could be a good cardiologist, etc., but even as dumb as I was, I could probably be a GREAT rheumatologist. I’m not that bright, but I was right.