RN Information

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wannabeapharm

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Any people here who are RNs can you tell me about the pros/cons of your profession? Im considering going back to school for nursing BUT I have some concerns on nursing such as :having to work 3rd shift ( I work 3rd shift now and I hate it)mandatory overtime or long hrs

But I see tons of nursing jobs available

Im trying to decide if this career path would suit me
I want a career thats very people oriented

Members don't see this ad.

Check out www.allnurses.com. You'll find a great deal of information about nursing there, and you will be able to direct your questions to nurses; there are a few nurses here (I'm one of them), but you're more apt to get accurate information at that site.

i am a nurse right now and I really like what I do. To answer your question...

Pro's: Typically I only have to work 3 shifts a week (3 12 hour shifts), there are plenty of jobs, I don't have mandatory over time, if you don't like what type of nursing you are practicing (e.g. or, er, general med/surg, peds) you can just change. Nursing can make a lot of money.

Con's: Sometime as a new nurse you can get a lousy shift but you can always just look else where. I work 3p-3a in the ER, other new nurses work 11a-11p or 7p-7a in the ER. I do have a friend who as a new RN rotates between 7a-7p and 7p-7a. Sometimes I feel like because it's a female dominated proffession there are problems that you experience when too many females get together.

However, in general the choice to become a nurse is a personal question. Like any job there are pros and cons it's really something you have to think about. Why is it that you want to be a nurse? What is it that you hope to get out of nursing? In your mind do the pro's outweigh the cons?
I hope that helps. If you have any more questions feel free to ask.