Rookie In Research. Help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Clipse

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a sophomore sincerely interested in becoming involved in medically oriented research, in hopes of one day publishing. Is this going to be more difficult because I am not a biology major (thus, no mentor = no connections) and because I don't have any formal laboratory research experience? How should I go about finding/applying to meaningful research positions? By meaningful I mean actually learning and contributing, rather than just washing test-tubes all day. Should I send out numerous letters of interest and resumes before the school year starts or should I apply in person once the school year begins? Do research positions pay and do they pay well? This is especially important to me because I am a federal work-study student and money is definitely an issue. Is there such a thing as a permanent research position? Would I actually be working personally with the PI and is a strong letter of recommendation from them possible? How do medical schools view research positions with the NIH? How difficult is it to attain a research position with the NIH? Do research positions exist for the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) or any other government agencies?