rotations, residency, and aoa/ama accred.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medgal

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi everyone! this is my first time posting on here...nice to be part of the osteopathic.com community
smile.gif
i have several questions: do or can DO students do clinical rotations along with their allopathic counterparts? if the DO clinical rotations are different, how so? on to residency...i may be interested in pursuing an allopathic residency..which ones are usually approved by the aoa? is it possible to have accred. from both the aoa and ama? how? which specialties normally allow for this dual accred.? ok, i realize ive just inundated this site with a ton of questions...i would appreciate any info you could provide...thanks, and good luck to all of you
smile.gif

medgal

Members don't see this ad.

Yes D.O. students can do there Clerkships at allopathic institutions. I have a friend who is finishing his entire 4th year at University of Cincinatti . So it can be done.

Your third year core rotations will be arranged by your school and they will most likely be "based" at an osteopathic hospital, although you may rotate through some services at allopathic hospitals in the area.

Your fourth year electives can be done wherever you care to arrange them, either at osteopathic or allopathic institutions.

There are several dual accredited residency programs,in many specialties, so you will have to inquire as to the accreditation of the programs your are interested in.