scheduling an audition rotation during my vacation month in 4th yr

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DoctorV

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I am a DO student interested in Orthopaedic Surgery. I get a vacation month in 4th year and was thinking of scheduling an audition rotation during that month. I am concerned that my school probably doesnt cover my malpractice insurance during that month. Does anybody have any insight as to how I can make this possible?
Has anybody scheduled an away rotation during their vacation month? if so how did you approach your school administrators? What did you tell them?

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

Hey Guys,

I am a DO student interested in Orthopaedic Surgery. I get a vacation month in 4th year and was thinking of scheduling an audition rotation during that month. I am concerned that my school probably doesnt cover my malpractice insurance during that month. Does anybody have any insight as to how I can make this possible?
Has anybody scheduled an away rotation during their vacation month? if so how did you approach your school administrators? What did you tell them?

Thank you

I'm confused. Why would you schedule an audition rotation during your vacation month? Does your school not allow any electives during fourth year? And if so, why wouldn't you do your audition rotation then?

yea I get 5 months of electives+1 month of vacation. our school only allows us to do 3 electives in 1 specialty. So in order to maximize the amount of places I can do an audition in Ortho I was willing to let go of my vacation month and schedule an additional audition month without letting my school know.

Members don't see this ad :)
Ideas that involve the phrase "without letting my school know" are usually fking stupid ideas. I'm glad I could impart this wisdom on you my young padawan.