Scientific Journal Article experiment question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JustinM88

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I officially read my first full scientific journal article in preparation for the MCAT and I have a question on the very last experiment that these researchers did. Feel free to correct me on anything and everything that I type here because I'm still new to this whole reading of scientific journal articles thing lol.

Main Idea of the Article
The 3' UTR region of the KLF6 gene (a tumor suppressor gene) is implicated in the downregulation of KLF6 gene expression. Of course, if we downregulate a tumor suppressor gene (aka we weaken the brakes on cell cycle regulation), we can end up with cancer (and in this case, liver cancer).

The Experiment
What the researchers wanted to know:
If the decrease in protein expression (indicated by Luciferase Activity) of the KLF6 gene was due to
a) mRNA degradation
-or-
b) blocking of protein translation.

*(I'm assuming miRNA's were the cause of either of these scenarios?)

Independent Variables:
A control cell (does NOT have KLF6 3' UTR, so I believe this should indicate normal levels of mRNA expression)
A cell w/ a full length 3' UTR (b/c the 3' UTR was shown to decrease protein expression)
A cell w/ UTR segment #2 only (b/c this segment was shown to have the most impact on a decrease in protein expression compared to the other UTR segments)

Dependent Variable:
Luciferase gene expression (% of the control cell) via RT-PCR + qPCR
(I believe RT-qPCR essentially indicates the amount of mRNA present in each cell b/c RT-PCR reverse transcribes RNA back into cDNA & qPCR can quantify cDNA...so overall this indicates how much mRNA there was)

Figure C (the Results)

Quote from the scientific journal article: