Screwed up freshman and sophomore year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fixyou

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, so here's my situation: I'm a sophomore at a pretty well ranked state school right now. Freshman year was extremely rough for me. I ended up getting a D in gen chem and a C+ in my expository writing class. But I did fairly well in bio and calc and got a B+ in both. I decided to retake chem 1 over summer and took a break from chem for spring semester. I ended up getting a C+ in bio2 and C in physics1 and B's in the rest of my non science classes. When I took chem1 over again in summer i got a b+ and proceeded to take chem2 over fall semester of sophomore year. I ended up scraping a C in this class and also got a C in physics2. I am now taking organic chem1 and failing it. My GPA as of fall semester of sophomore year stands at 2.6. i know that if i retake orgo over summer i will be able to get a B or higher. But I am really afraid my chances for med school are slim to none. Also, I come from a south asian family (indian) and i'm beyond terrified to break it to my dad that i'm failing ochem. But since half of my family consists of over achieving 4.0 med school students, my father will never understand why i'm doing so bad. truth is, i work hard, i work really hard. I tend to have really bad nerves right before my exams and screw everything up.
So what do you guys think I should do? Should I give up on the med school dream? Is there any advice you guys can give me regarding my situation? And please be as harsh as you can. I could really use some honest opinions right now.

Members don't see this ad.