Aug 28, 2017
Status
Pre-Medical
I graduated in May with a biology degree with a stellar GPA and MCAT score. I applied last year and didn't get in anywhere. I got feedback from UW telling me that I was lacking in volunteer hours (~70-80) and needed a better understanding of a medical team. I am currently working full-time at Intel (to pay off loans and such) and my compressed-work-week schedule allows me to take on a second job as a medical scribe. If I were to take on the scribe position in addition to my current job, I would have no time to volunteer (or have a life). This particular scribing position requires a 2 year commitment which I would begin in September, so I would be taking 2 gap years. I am wondering if I would be better off to spend the next 2 years participating in various volunteer activities or if medical schools value a good scribing experience enough to look past lacking volunteer hours.

workaholic181

2+ Year Member
May 29, 2017
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
I graduated in May with a biology degree with a stellar GPA and MCAT score. I applied last year and didn't get in anywhere. I got feedback from UW telling me that I was lacking in volunteer hours (~70-80) and needed a better understanding of a medical team. I am currently working full-time at Intel (to pay off loans and such) and my compressed-work-week schedule allows me to take on a second job as a medical scribe. If I were to take on the scribe position in addition to my current job, I would have no time to volunteer (or have a life). This particular scribing position requires a 2 year commitment which I would begin in September, so I would be taking 2 gap years. I am wondering if I would be better off to spend the next 2 years participating in various volunteer activities or if medical schools value a good scribing experience enough to look past lacking volunteer hours.