Second Bachelors McGill

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DoctorLion

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So last June I obtained a masters degree in Library and Information Science from McGill university. I have previously gotten a bachelors degree from a US university in English literature. I always thought that I wanted to be a librarian until I went into library school and realized that it wasn't for me. I just couldn't do the course work because I was dreadfully bored of the material. In short, I lacked total motivation and pulled out of the program with a 3.2 GPA

My bachelors GPA was around a 3.358 (however I did my B.A. in 2 years).

Since I do not have a background in psychology, I am going to get a second bachelors degree in psychology. So I read somewhere that McGill bases it's decisions on the last two years of your study. Since I have a masters degree, do any of you have an idea as to what level of education they will base my GPA on. I am certain that I will have at least a 3.8 GPA if I get a second bachelors in psychology. However, will they still look at my master's GPA (the dismal 3.2?). Am I wasting my time? Please help :(

My goal it to get into McGill (first choice) or Concordia's Master's psychology program.
Info about me:

I'm 24 years old.
I didn't do a thesis, but I took a research class and published a research paper on the history of library science.
I am an international student from the USA.

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

They almost certainly won't use your Master's grades, especially because your Master's degree is not in psych. But we can't tell you for sure.

You could call the graduate program administrative assistant and ask-- That's likely the only way you'll get a solid answer. The internet can't really help you with this one. :)

What type of psychology degree are you interested in doing? research or clinical?