second undergrad degree?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thoughtsmeander

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone.

Im a career changer with a less than sparkling undergrad gpa, (2.7) so it looks like i have a double handicap in approaching medical school admission.

I graduated from college two weeks ago, and i decided i would take the premed classes i missed (chem o-chem physics, calc, possibly anatomy) at a local college near my house, while i work.

I was wondering if it would be a wise move to get a second bachelors degree--in biology--- from this second university, since many of my credits transfer. This way, i will be given a chance to graduate with a significantly higher gpa.

While i know medical schools will notice my earlier undergraduate work, does a stellar second-degree gpa make a difference? Should i just take the classes as a part-time non-degree student instead?

thanks for any advice!!! :)

Members don't see this ad.

I am in a similar situation as you are. But I am even worse, with just a 2.4 GPA. I am graduating 2 weeks later with a BS in Computer Sci.

Now I am comapring, whether to get a second undergrad degree in the sciences or try to get into (if I can) a post-bacc program or even SMP in the NYC area.

Please, any advice will be greatly appreciated! :)

i know that for my school, im in the postbacc program doing all the science pre-reqs as well but for financial aid purposes i needed to get matriculation status so i did. As it turns out, i found out that i might be eligible to get a second degree in bio if i wanted too cuase in order to get a second degree u need to complete something like 30 credits or so.
Look into ur school for that...
I would imagine if medical schools see that u have 2 degrees on top of your other scores and grades that would make u just that much of a competative applicant.

Members don't see this ad :)