Secondary Essay Submission Timing?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

goodmornin

GoodMornin!
Reaction score
Hi, I am a pre-med student applying for this cycle and wanted to ask about the two-week deadline for my secondary essays. I applied to many schools and unfortunately did not pre-write a ton of my essays. How negatively will submitting within 2.5-3 weeks affect my application? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I think the 2 week rule is kinda like a general rule of thumb for when you should have em in and less of a strict deadline. I think having more polished essays submitted slightly later will be better than rushed/poorly written essays submitted sooner.

Reactions: 1 users

What might happen is that your application gets reviewed as much as a month later, depending on how many others submit their applications "on time" within the recommended 1-2 week deadline. But that's probably it. I agree, "better" is still preferred than "earlier," but both are ideal. (This is why you pre-write.)

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I think the 2 week rule is kinda like a general rule of thumb for when you should have em in and less of a strict deadline. I think having more polished essays submitted slightly later will be better than rushed/poorly written essays submitted sooner.
I agree, and the key advice is to read each email inviting you to submit a secondary word by word to see if they have a strict deadline to return it. Two that I know have a 2 week deadline are Wash U St. Louis and U of Houston Fertitta, there are others.

Last edited:
Reactions: 3 users
I agree, and the key advice is to read each email inviting you to submit a secondary word by word to see if they have a strict deadline to return it. Two that I know have a 2 week deadline are Wash U St. Lous and U of Houston Fertitta, there are others.