Seeking advice, is it too late to apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kilegna

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am planning on applying to optometry school this cycle to enter fall 2018. I have started my application and the only things missing are my OAT & Personal statement.
I am currently studying to take my OAT last week of October. My GPA is low (2.81) so I am relying on getting a good score and hopefully with my work/ shadowing experience of 7 years it might make my application better.
I know that applying early works towards your favor as an applicant, but I was wondering if submitting my application last week of October is too late for this cycle?
Thank you for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
July to August is usually considered early but October isn't too late. Try your best to get a good OAT score to help your application, Good luck !

I am in the same boat as you with the low GPA and stressing if I' too late already, I wrote my OAT's in May but my score wasn't what I hoped so i'm re-writing December 1st. But read so many forums and the large majority (about 90%) said to apply right now, as soon as possible even without your OAT scores, and just send them over your scores when you finish. I will be applying in the next week- two weeks and will be sending over my new OAT score later on. The majority of people got interviews with no OAT score so apply ASAP.

Members don't see this ad :)