Serious Advice Needed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kdubb11

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I hope I am posting in the right place, apologies if not. My dream is to become a physician, but I am unsure of which path is the correct one for me. After an extremely horrible life tragedy, in which I realized life is way too short, I applied to AUA in the Caribbean to start next fall. I have an interview with that school in the near future, but I am now unsure if I should wait another year and apply to US schools.

I graduated with a BA in Biological Sciences, minor in Medical Humanities.
cGPA: 3.57
sGPA: 3.54

-Volunteered in busy ED for 100 hrs
-Shadowed cardiologist 30 hrs
-Currently volunteer with a VAC: 150 hrs so far, in training for EMT certification
-Member of community service sorority, plenty of hours of various volunteering
-Held leadership positions in honor societies, volunteer groups

I also currently work full time at a prestigious lab, worked in several labs while in undergrad, though I have very little interest in doing research.

Are my grades and EC's competitive enough to get into a US MD program? What about DO? I know my GPA isn't the best for med school. I am planning on taking the MCAT early this spring, but I am torn about wasting another year or just going down to the Caribbean and working my butt off, if given the opportunity.

Does anyone have any advice? It would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Do not go to the carribean. There are too many people already complaining about having problems getting into residencies in the states. This should be an absolute last resort. Your gpa isn't too bad and iif you get a 28+ on the mcat and apply day 1, you are virtually a shoe in for DO schools. And you would still be slightly competitive for low tier MD. Just relax and don't go carribean.

Members don't see this ad :)