Sexual Harassment in Physical Therapy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AAtndpt2018

Reaction score
I know sexual harassment is a big topic in the news right now, and it had me reflecting over some past experiences: what constitutes sexual harassment between clinical instructor and student? I have a memory that vividly stands out to me which happened while I was a student during one of my clinical rotations several years ago. Since PT is such a hands-on environment, I truly wanted to know what people think of this situation, and whether it was appropriate or not. I'm not seeking to confirm that this was sexual harassment, but rather start a thread on what does constitute sexual harassment between student and CI. (I understand sexual harassment guidelines between PT and patient in the workplace, so this is not about that).

I was assigned a 10 week rotation at a manual therapy outpatient clinic. Three PTs worked at the clinic: 2 were female and one was male. I'll call him Joe. Joe was my clinical instructor. He was in his late 20s and I was around 23 or 24 at the time. Joe was a good CI-he took time out to teach me different techniques, especially manual techniques, and would often quiz me during the day. One day he told me we were going to go over external pelvic floor palpation techniques. I told him I hadn't even learned that in school, and expressed some surprise (I think I thought he was kidding at first-maybe this was naive of me as a PT student). He told me that he was surprised I hadn't learned or practiced the technique in PT school. So I thought maybe my school was just conservative.

We headed to a treatment table in the back of the clinic. I believe the curtains were drawn for privacy; I know for a fact no patients were around nor were the other 2 female PTs. In other words, it was just me and Joe.