Shadowing for the first time tomorrow, but I don't know what to do!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Spades455

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm going to be shadowing a DO tomorrow for the first time and I have some concerns since I've never done this before.

1. What questions should I be asking him to get the most out of my experience? What kinds of conversations did you have when you shadowed?

2. I need a Letter of Rec from a DO. How many hours should you shadow someone before it's appropriate to ask for one? The receptionist scheduled me for only one day even though I asked for more than one in my email, so it's unclear if I'll get more than one day. And should I ask for a letter right when I am done shadowing, or should I wait a bit?

3. Does it ever get awkward just following someone the entire day? Like when you run out of things to talk about and are just standing around?

Members don't see this ad.

In my limited shadowing experiences, the doctor has been pretty busy the entire day, whether it be seeing patients or dictating or filling out paperwork. Because of this I didn't really have any awkward quiet moments, and I asked much less questions than I thought I would have. The main ones were why he chose the specialty he did, what are other days like, and then just some small chit-chat.

As for the LOR, a good one would take at least a couple days of shadowing. It's hard to get a good impression of someone whom you've only spent a couple of hours with, so I'd try to get above 20 hours shadowing before you asked for one. I would ask for the letter right after you are done shadowing.

Do you recommend that they go ahead and give you an LOR even if you dont plan on applying for some time?

Are applicants the ones who actually submit their LORs, or do the docs have to do it somehow?

Members don't see this ad :)