Shadowing in High school?

ComputerGuy365

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Y'all,

I am a Freshman in high school, and I have just developed a profound interest in the medical field. I figured shadowing would be a good idea, because it would allow me to see whether medicine is really the way I want to go. Any ideas where to start?

Thanks,

Zach

P.S. I am interested in Neurology and Psychiatry, but that may change as my life goes on.

Members don't see this ad.

Go for it if it's for personal interest but don't kill yourself...nothing you do in high school really counts on a med school app anyway...and the time between now and the time you apply to med school is equal to half the time you've been alive so there's really no rush :)

Not sure if your age will be a limiting factor anywhere...maybe not idk

I had some "accidental" shadowing hours.(by which I had to follow around my uncle while he was doing rounds because he was taking me home from school and needed to see some patients first so yeah accidental) but it's really not a rush and honestly after talking to his partner(I was around your age when he was my regular ride home from track practice) I was only really allowed there because he was my uncle and was "watching me". I would wait unless you have family in the field because there maybe laws about minors in on patients(especially under sixteen minors). I still shadowed in college. Just focus on good grades, and getting into college first.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello Y'all,

I am a Freshman in high school, and I have just developed a profound interest in the medical field. I figured shadowing would be a good idea, because it would allow me to see whether medicine is really the way I want to go. Any ideas where to start?

Thanks,

Zach

P.S. I am interested in Neurology and Psychiatry, but that may change as my life goes on.