Should I apply to optometry (opinions)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

optom14

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I would like to hear your opinions. I am applying to the Optometry 2014 cycle. I am planning on applying to ICO SCCO PCO and Western and maybe New England. I have written the OAT before but did not do so great although I studied so hard for it. I studied for two months and did a lot of practice tests from Crack the OAT (My lowest scores was in gen chem, physics, and quant). I really want to apply but scared that if I apply now, they will just put my application on hold and forget about it (I indicated that I will be taking the OAT in the next few months on the application). This is my last shot at the OAT and I do not know what to do differently to get a higher score. My GPA is about 3.10. I would really appreciate any input or advice.:(

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Well not knowing what your OAT scores are is very difficult to say. How are the other aspects of your application, such as extracurricular activities? IMO if you already have everything ready to apply, you mine as well try, because you may never know you might end up in your first year next fall.

I wrote it twice already unfortunately. My first was TS 270 and second time TS was 280. I feel like the scores don't even reflect how hard I studied :(

Members don't see this ad :)
Well not knowing what your OAT scores are is very difficult to say. How are the other aspects of your application, such as extracurricular activities? IMO if you already have everything ready to apply, you mine as well try, because you may never know you might end up in your first year next fall.

I forgot to mention that I already have a lot of extracurricular s and I also shadowed an optometrist and I work there a few hours a week too.