Should I Change My State Residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HealthHare

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a Massachusetts state resident, but have not been one long enough to be eligible to apply to UMass.

My parents are splitting up and my dad will most likely be relocating to California while my mom stays in Mass.

Since I would still be my parents dependent would it be a good idea to switch to being a California resident? I know this sounds like a no-brainer given my lack of eligibility for Umass, but would being a Cali resident put me a disadvantage for schools in other parts of the country. I've heard that Cali applicants aren't liked very much outside of their state.

Members don't see this ad.

I am currently a Massachusetts state resident, but have not been one long enough to be eligible to apply to UMass.

My parents are splitting up and my dad will most likely be relocating to California while my mom stays in Mass.

Since I would still be my parents dependent would it be a good idea to switch to being a California resident? I know this sounds like a no-brainer given my lack of eligibility for Umass, but would being a Cali resident put me a disadvantage for schools in other parts of the country. I've heard that Cali applicants aren't liked very much outside of their state.

Umm, I would think that isn't true. Because it's pretty well-known that there just aren't enough seats for Cali applicants at Cali medical schools, a lot of people are forced to go outside of the state for medical school.

I don't think it really matters what state you claim for residency--but I guess being a CA resident would make it easier for you to apply to the University of California system, but that's only if you will be eligible for Cali residency by the time you apply (which you didn't state).