Should I do a post-bacc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ohlala

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
In 2007, I graduated with a Masters in Pharmacology. I am currently in law school thinking that I was never really meant for medicine. However, I've decided life is too short to keep dreaming. I'm definitely retaking the MCAT.

My question to you all. Should I do a post-bac? I'm not sure whether I should do a SMP because I already have a masters. Is 2012 cycle too early to apply? I want to apply after I get called to the bar. Thanks. :love:

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Your GPA isn't great but it's not bad. I doubt that more coursework is the problem.

You need a great story for why you have collected all these degrees without finding a career, and legitimacy in your explanation for why you think you'll be happy in medicine when you aren't happy in law/pharm. I suggest that you will be a more mature and well-rounded med school candidate (not to mention adult) if you have a bit of a career before going back to school, such as working for 2-3 years in law. Med school is likely to run you $150k to $250k in additional student debt, unless you're independently wealthy.

Get above average on the MCAT. For MD schools average is 32. Against a less-than-competitive-but-not-bad GPA, the MCAT is an opportunity under your control to show excellence.

Put together a compelling app. Go for it or don't.

Best of luck to you.

I agree with Dr. Midwife.... I only suggest you (quit your job/take leave of absence or whatever else you are doing) Sign up for a prep course and RETAKE THE MCAT. Shoot for at least a 28. NO POSTBAC. You have enough credits, that not the issue. What surprises me is applying twice with a subpar mcat and expecting miraculous things to happen the second go.