Should I drop out of PT school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doyourresearch

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 2nd year student and am really considering not returning for the fall semester. My grades are fine (3.8 right now), but I don't actually feel like I'm learning anything. I'm not really passionate about PT and I was counting on my first clinical to prove to myself that I would really like/love it but it keeps getting pushed back. Which I understand, I just don't want to keep wasting my time and waiting to be placed somewhere. I'm also growing increasingly frustrated by my program and faculty at the utter lack of organization, communication, and even respect. Even pre-COVID I felt like just another statistic to most of them.

I worked for a few years before starting PT school, so I have a (short) career I could fall back on. As for debt-to-income, that's not something I'm super worried about because I have a scholarship that covers about 75% of my tuition, so I pay a small amount of tuition plus fees, which isn't much. I've been getting involved in APTA and my state chapter, and I guess I'm just realizing that to achieve my career goals (improving healthcare and promoting health equity for underrepresented populations) I don't really need a DPT.

I could finish, but I'm not sure that I want to. Any advice? Is it insane to throw away a year of school and a scholarship?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I think dropping out would be a foolish plan. Your ultimate goal is to improve healthcare and help underrepresented populations - gaining a DPT is a great foundation for being someone credible enough to produce change. Even if you finish PT school and you don't like the field, you have little debt to look back on. It sucks to hear your program is is tailored that way, but just keep pushing through and there will always be time recalibrate afterwards.

Reactions: 1 user