Should I even bother trying?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AUDwannaBE

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a non traditional student, just turned 30. For the past 4 years I've been a speech therapist. I graduated undergrad with a degree in speech and hearing sciences with a 2.94 gpa. The science classes I did take were related to my major (I.e. Bioacoustics which is physics, neuroanatomy, speech and hearing science). I have very few prerequistes completed and those that are are now expired so I will have to retake them. My masters gpa was only a 3.4. I have a c in one of my clinical practicums. Also, I dropped classes a lot in undergrad and grad school because I was working while attending school so I have a few w's. I was lucky to get into speech therapy masters because I aced my GRE and had glowing letters of the recommendation and my gpa in last 60 hours is about a 3.7. I tend to excel at taking Tests. If i am able to ace the OAT and do well in pre-reqs what are my chances at being accepted? I have to continue working full time so I'm hoping I can take 2 classes a semester. I just don't want to spend all this time and money on trying to get in somewhere if chances are too slim. Is there anything else I can do besides getting good grades and oat score? Thanks so much everyone!

Members don't see this ad.

Do it. I was a non-traditional student as well. I majored in Applied Mathematics with a 2.9 GPA. I applied with about a 3.01 GPA and a 360 OAT and have gotten in everywhere I have interviewed at. (Knock on wood- I have my last interview this Monday lol.)

Also those classes in which your pre-reqs are expired, I was able to just take upper level classes in those divisions like Orgo 2 to supplement my expired Chem 1 credit.

Reactions: 1 users