Should I even bother?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

May3Exam

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone, I'm a a third-year med student and I've been strongly considering opthalmology as my residency choice since my first year. I did ophtho research during medical school and was able to publish (third author in american journal of ophtho). My step 1 didn't go as well as I wanted (227). Since then, I've been feeling really down because I feel like I blew my chances of getting into an ophtho residency. I'm even too scared to make an appointment with the residency director at my school because I dont want to hear him tell me that I should consider something else instead of ophtho. I go to a top 10 medical school, but I'm not a stellar student here. What do you guys think? Should I consider something else because I don't have good chances? I would really really appreciate any constructive input. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Everyone, I'm a a third-year med student and I've been strongly considering opthalmology as my residency choice since my first year. I did ophtho research during medical school and was able to publish (third author in american journal of ophtho). My step 1 didn't go as well as I wanted (227). Since then, I've been feeling really down because I feel like I blew my chances of getting into an ophtho residency. I'm even too scared to make an appointment with the residency director at my school because I dont want to hear him tell me that I should consider something else instead of ophtho. I go to a top 10 medical school, but I'm not a stellar student here. What do you guys think? Should I consider something else because I don't have good chances? I would really really appreciate any constructive input. Thanks!