Should I feel like I suck at my job?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

clinicalscience808

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been working at a clinic now for 3-4 months and just had my probationary review over the phone with the clinic owner who is never really at the clinic. I work at a vet assistant/tech/receptionist and there are 2 doctors, 1 tech, and 1 receptionist on staff besides me. Because of my position, I am really under the supervision and direction of everyone else there. In my review, my boss said that I rated myself higher than my coworkers/supervisors did and I feel like a failure. I am a really shy person and some of their comments were that I don't seem like I want to be there. I admitted to the owner that I have to put myself out there and volunteer to do simple things like blood draws that I'm still not confident with, but I'm not really sure how because I always feel so nervous doing anything there!
The receptionist also seems to hate me sometimes, which is a problem because she's my boss too. In my review I was told that I don't always take criticism well, which I'm pretty sure comes from the receptionist who has corrected me on little things and flipped out so much. It's to the point that I don't always listen because there's just so much that she tells me. It really feels like she loves having someone to boss around and I hate it. I love working as a tech and all problems with shyness aside, the receptionist is the worst part of the job since she belittles me about anything and everything. How do I deal with her while still keeping my integrity and sanity?