Should I Give Up?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

erythema

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello.

I am in third year of medical school on my clinical rotations. I am getting mostly High Passes but not Honors and my boards scores are average. In the past, I have always wanted dermatology. I worked in a dermatology office for 7 years since I turned 15. Every rotation, I keep thinking that hopefully I will like it more than derm and unfortunately this is not happening. I work extremely hard but I am not so good at taking tests and I am scared this will hurt my chances of getting interviews.

Does anyone know if there are programs you could do after medical school that could help your chances of getting into dermatology residency? Does anyone have advice on this matter in general? Can you do a general medicine or pediatrics residency and then a dermatology residency after?

Your input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not even in medical school yet, but I can partially answer your question since I work with dermatologists. Several of them have done internal medicine residencies prior to their derm programs. They've told me they couldn't initially match into derm, but doing IM anyway gives you an edge for derm residencies as it shows your maturity as a clinician and better ability to understand what's going systemically with derm patients (don't even know if that's true though).

Other dermatologists I've known did a year-long fellowship in a derm program and tried to match for a derm residency afterward. All three of the fellows I knew ended up matching the next year. I hear it depends heavily on the doctor for whom you are working though. You should look into these opportunities if possible. Good luck.

potato51 said: