Should I include professional development on my CV?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psychstudent90

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am currently a registered provisional psychologist undertaking a Master of Psychology. I am also hoping to become an academic and researcher, and aim to begin a PhD once I graduate.

I have undertaken a lot of professional development over the past 8-9 years in psychology, mostly developed for psychologists. It is currently listed on my CV in alphabetical order by year. There are probably at least 120-130 events listed.

I feel that PD events are currently occupying a bit too much space on my CV, but I also want future employers to know how much effort I have put in to training as a psychologist.

What would you recommend?

Many thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone,

I am currently a registered provisional psychologist undertaking a Master of Psychology. I am also hoping to become an academic and researcher, and aim to begin a PhD once I graduate.

I have undertaken a lot of professional development over the past 8-9 years in psychology, mostly developed for psychologists. It is currently listed on my CV in alphabetical order by year. There are probably at least 120-130 events listed.

I feel that PD events are currently occupying a bit too much space on my CV, but I also want future employers to know how much effort I have put in to training as a psychologist.

What would you recommend?

Many thanks!
I’d say to list a few most significant ones (3-5, maybe) with a note that it’s out of 120 attended.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I think listing PD is CV stacking personally unless it’s a significant training experience like a certification or something.