Medical Should I include volunteering abroad on AMCAS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there. I have been struggling with this decision for a while now. In college, I participated in a one-month volunteering experience in Ecuador where I co-taught a physical education and nutrition class to elementary students at a low-income school in Quito. I worked alongside the permanent instructor at the school. We made daily lesson plans for creative ways to engage students in physical activity with limited resources.

I have heard MANY mixed opinions on whether or not including such an activity on AMCAS is appropriate.

To head off some questions:
  • there was NO medical or clinical experience involved
  • my position had oversight (working alongside a teacher, not independently)
  • I stayed in a homestay with an Ecuadorian family, taking the bus to work every day
  • I majored in anthropology and global health at my university
  • At my university, I was also part of an after-school volunteer program where I tutored local elementary school kids for one hour then did physical activity outside for one hour each week (the point I'm making is in Ecuador, I did things I had some experience in)
  • I have other non-clincial and clinical volunteering experiences in the U.S. (this was not at the exclusion of other experiences or contributing to my local community)

My question is whether or not you think this activity is appropriate to include on my application? I am hesitant because I have heard some schools look very unfavorably on applicants who have volunteered abroad. However, given my anthropology and global health background, I am fully aware of the negatives of volunteerism and tried to ensure that my program did not cause any of the negative externalities associated with voluntourism.