Should I take Biochem while applying?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

banannie

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Gosh, I haven't posted in a while.

Anyway, I need some advice from anyone who's willing to give it. Like most of you, I'm applying now. However, I'm a bit behind the ball. I've only completed about 8 of the 20 secondaries I anticipate I'll receive. . .
I graduated a year ago, and I didn't take biochem in college. I'm considering taking it this semester (fortunately, the Harvard Extension school hasn't started classes yet). I think it would be an interesting class, and it would be nice to not have to play catch-up when I (hopefully) start medical school.
However, I'm working full-time and my job is just starting to get more stressful. And of course, there are all those applications to worry about, plus the possibility of interviews.
Applying to med school needs to be my first priority now. That said, if I work hard in biochem, and get an A, maybe it will convince some adcoms to pull me off a wait list next spring? :)
I'm just not sure what level of stress to expect from this application process, or from a biochem class that meets one evening for 2 hours a week. . .

If you think my question is boring or hackneyed, please just ignore it.

Thanks! and sorry this is so long!

Members don't see this ad.

You don't need biochem to get into medschool. (I took it and got my only C :( ). My advice is to concentrate on your applications. You will have trouble enough keeping up with secondaries with your job, and once you start going to interviews, it will be hard to avoid missing class and falling behind. If you think the application process is stressful, wait until you start interviewing. It is downright grueling (not to mention time-consuming and expensive). I'm not saying you couldn't do it, but why do it if it's not necessary? :confused: