Should I take some time off after undergrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kernel

OSU c/o 2017
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey friends,

I often pay a visit to the forum when I'm feeling unsure about something, and it has always seem to help.

This time, I'm wondering if those of you who took time off between obtaining their undergraduate degree and finishing up pre-vet coursework/applying to vet school could share some of the pro's and con's of your experience.

I'm a third year undergrad who only recently decided to pursue a double major biology and french. I've known for a while that I wanted to go into the healthcare field, and just last year I decided for certain that I want to be a vet, so I have gen chem under my belt, but I'm still *very* far behind. I'm toying with the idea of finishing my bachelor's and then taking some time off before I dive into more school. I have zero shadowing/job field experience, and I've lived in the same city my whole life (I'm itching to give Canada a try!**). That said, I'm realizing that I would only be prolonging the amount of time I'd have to spend in school. If I do "just enough" to finish my degree in biology, I would still to take things like biochemistry, and the rest of the gen physics and ochem sequences. I understand that taking time off can be dangerous in terms of remembering the stuff one needs to succeed in these classes!

I'm really torn here. I don't want to commit to either of these options blindly. To be frank, however, I'm already starting to get burnt out on school, and I know that I'm lacking heavily in field experience. Despite the fact that I'm already leaning a teensy bit in one direction, any advice would be greatly appreciated. I've been trying to register for winter term classes this week, but I'm totally stuck.

Happy Thanksgiving!