Should I wait another year or am I just wasting my time?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

P0pem0beel

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a non-URM Michigan native looking for MD schools. I've already waited an extra year to get my stats up but I'm wondering if I should wait another. Here's the gist of it...

Michigan State. Double major in 1)Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 2) Human Biology with a specialization in Bioethics, Humanities, and Society
I'm a 5th year student. I will receive my Biochem and Mol. Bio B.S. at the end of this semester and receive the other degree at the end of next year. Next years classes are all medically/ethically based.

cGPA- 3.26 sGPA-3.15

ECs
-3 month study abroad for molecular biology research in Dusseldorf, Germany
-Clinical medicine volunteer in Trujillo, Peru for one month during 11'-12' winter. I received at least 40 hours of clinical training with a doctor and had hands on experience with several medical procedures
-1.5 years biochemistry research (specifically enzyme functional analysis) with the former chairperson of the MSU biochemistry department
-I volunteer with Big Brothers Big Sisters. I'm currently the big brother/mentor of a 6th grader and will continue to be until I start medical school
-Musician. I've been playing guitar and drums for nearly 12 years now. It's a passion of mine.
-Hopefully come May, I'll be shadowing a general practice physician for a week or so.

MCAT- 27Q. Retook and got a 36Q