General Signs of a bad PI?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Question

Member Question
Volunteer Staff
Reaction score
I am an undergrad doing social science research with a PI. We received funding to conduct the research topic that we originally submitted for the research grant. I then asked my PI how I should prepare myself for the research that we would be doing that semester, and he ignored my email until two weeks before the semester began. He said he would discuss more during the semester, and that's when we talked about more about our research project. A few weeks later, my PI completely changed our research topic and the research we would be doing after spending weeks on literature review. I brushed it aside and went with the flow. A new research idea that my PI wanted us to do in which I spent writing sections on was completely tossed in the bin. Again, he changed our research topic into something else. With the research grant program, I needed to reach a certain number of hours yet my PI never gave me enough work to focus on my research project simply because 1. He kept changing our research topic every few weeks; 2. I was never fully updated with the work that I should have been doing on a weekly basis. When I did complete work, he would sometimes nitpick at my files and told me to orient them in a different way than what he previously had asked me to do. Other times, he claims that he would look at my work only to never hear from him regarding the progress of my work.