Simple critical care question on sedation from a simple nose doc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OtoRes

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm an surgical subspecialty resident with very little CC experience outside of intern year one month in SICU.

I've got a question on sedation. A patient's family keeps asking us about weaning sedation from the MICU COVID that is pending a trach, now on day 16 on the vent, with steadily improving ARDS. Now on PEEP 8 and FiO2 50% tolerating slow vent weaning, they want to wake him up a bit more as he tolerates the vent reasonably,

The MICU has been telling family about them weaning 20% by day on a patient currently on Fent 200 mcg/hour (from 300 last week) around the clock, now on nearly week 3 of using it. They did pull of the continuous Versed from 6 -> 4 -> 2 the past few days. The nurses seem to see a small amount of anxiety and keep pushing Versed 2 mg every 4-6 hours, of give a quick bolus (typically the night shift nurses I've noticed) of fentanyl. The patient is hardly responsive outside of sternal rub grimace and family are begging to see some slow weaning. The ICU team has started precedex to held bridge things, but the patient seems to be completely snowed all the time.

Is this a poor sedation weaning I am seeing? What about enteral meds to bridge the gap? Any advice?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.