SMP or Show Commitment to Experiences?

bye538

May 26, 2020
  1. Pre-Medical
Hi everyone, I'm a bit new here and I'm looking for some guidance on what to do for my next steps. I graduated undergrad in May 2019, and have been working as an EMT and scribe ever since (both paid clinical experience). I'm thinking of applying to SMP's March 2021, but thinking I should maybe continue my volunteering to show commitment and length of time, so that might postpone applying to SMP's in March of 2022? I know quality >quantity and I truly wish I discovered these experiences (special needs aquatic program, special olympics, online crisis text counseling, volunteering in a free clinic) sooner and COVID really postponed some of it. Would adcoms look down on 11 months or 1 yr of volunteering?

cGPA: 3.3, sGPA: 3.0, with decent upward trend
MCAT: 520
State: CA
Ethnicity: Burmese
Clinical: >1200 hrs of EMT so far, and ~300 hrs of scribing in an ED so far, free clinic volunteer for low income population (not yet started)
Non-clinical: Volunteered at a food bank for 3 years for my fraternity as well as fundraised for the American Cancer Society, Special needs aquatic program (started April 2020), Special Olympics coach (estimated start July 1st 2020 if COVID lifts), online crisis text counseling (started May 2020)
Research: 200 hrs bench work for 1 yr
Leadership: 1 yr on executive board for fraternity leading food bank collection and fundraising for American Cancer Society, 1 yr of being a member and 1 yr of being Vice President of a club that traveled to Latin American countries on medical/clinic trips

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

gonnif

Rule One: Take a Breath
10+ Year Member
Jul 26, 2009
The Big Bad Apple
  1. Non-Student
1) SMP. Without showing evidence of the ability to handle the academic intensity of medical school, no matter if you have more dedication to service than Mother Teresa, you wont make past an initial screening