• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

Surferboy

basileus
10+ Year Member
Feb 15, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
So, if by chance my greatgrandfather was a former dean of a well-known med school, would that help give me an edge in the admissions process even though he is deceased?

Oh btw...this would be UCSF so I don't think this wouldn't help me at all considering everyone accepted there has perfect track records. My greatgrandfather is my idol as he was one of the forerunners in anesthesia through his research and creation of an anesthesia department at UCSF as well. My grandfather is also one of my heroes as he is a main author/editor of one of the two main anesthesia textbooks. I hope to become an anesthesiologist as well and as a sophomore I'm researching with anesthesiologists in the OR at UCLA. I'm just wondering whether legacy and tradition have anything to do with med school admissions. Obviously I'm not relying on it. I'm working my tail off because it's rewarding.

docdude

10+ Year Member
Nov 8, 2006
Status (Visible)
So, if by chance my greatgrandfather was a former dean of a well-known med school, would that help give me an edge in the admissions process even though he is deceased?