so how important it is to have a B.S.?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wolvbb

?
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well this is my dilemma, I play a varsity sport at umich which is very time consuming and demanding, without it I would of never gotten in. My GPA through freshman year is a 3.3. The way they have our sport scheduled really limits me to the number of classes I can take, which typically fails between 12-14 credits per semester. I plan on taking all the med pre-reqs before the MCAT coupled with a few classes like physio, biochem, and anatomy.

My major is in movement science which has a portion of the med pre-reqs tied into it (intro bios/lab, gen chem, physics I/lab and english I/II) but with my time limitations in four years I will be around a semester (if not more) short in classes for my major.

I'm out of state at umich (really expensive) and would prefer to go straight into med school.

I volunteer and shadow and have other EC's

so would not having a undergrad degree matter?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
BA vs. BS means nothing... in many cases, you cant even compare BS's at one university to BS's at another. Maybe in other cases, a BA at one place would be even MORE rigorous than a BS somewhere else....

So it really doesnt matter...at all. If art major vs. science major doesn't matter to medical school committees, I can't imagine BA vs. BS even coming up in any discussion.

At my school, the difference between a BS and BA in biochemistry is one elective and a slightly more time-consuming lab. That's it. Nothing of any relevance to medical schools. Not to mention I won't even have my degree until AFTER I am accepted, and I could still decide to switch last minute.

It doesnt matter at all. I go to a liberal arts college, EVERYONE gets a B.A.. Physics majors, chemistry majors, biology majors, biochemistry majors...they all have BAs when they graduate.