Software engineer to med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kokotako

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am computer science graduate and I have two years of experience in the field but I am really interested in medical field. I am 30 years old and it look like I am too old to going back to med school which I would finish in 10 years. And one of my interest is the financial part. Because in the programming field jobs are not secure and also in the old age nobody would accept to hire you if you end up being fired from your job. So recently decide to take the med school prerequisite and apply for the school. But I am very confused because I don't want to end up like I made the wrong decision. Because right now I work as consultant and make $4o/hr. So I don't now if programming will be better for me or not.
Please tell me what you think about it. I would like to read you.

Members don't see this ad.

Probably not the greatest idea. If you're worried about finances and that's your primary reason for looking into med. school taking 10 years off to go to medical school is a pretty bad idea.

$40/hr is respectable money.

I was a software engineer from 1991 to 2004. Then I quit, sold my house, and am now living off my retirement savings while I take premed courses. I'm living like I did when I was 19, I feel like I'm 27, and I just turned 40. No husband, no kids, no mortgage, so it's quite a comfortable lifestyle. I'll be just about broke when I start med school, and I'll have big scary loans to pay off when I'm done with residency around age 50.

Money isn't the reason I want to be a doctor, not at all. Why would I spend 10 years training to switch from one 6 figure job to another? Money is also not going to keep me from being a doctor, see above re: going for broke.