Some Advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neurology md

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a junior undergrad. Unfortunately, I got started relatively late in wanting to be a doctor and was not initially prepared for college, causing my freshman grades to suffer. However, my grades since then have been better. As it stands, I am likely to graduate with about a 3.6 cgpa and 3.5 sgpa. I have a summer of research experience in bioinformatics and will probably continue that this upcoming summer. I have not yet taken the MCAT, but I know I'll need a very high score to be competitive. I would just like to know what MD programs I have a decent shot at given my relatively low gpas.

Also, I am a North Carolina resident and I am interested in the UNC-Chapel Hill program but cannot find consistent statistics as to the average grades of their matriculants. I would really appreciate any help in this.

Members don't see this ad.

Well, for the in-state schools here are some numbers:

UNC
MCAT: 32.58
cGPA: 3.62
sGPA: 3.55
In-state interviewed: 533/941 (57%, huge plus)

East Carolina
MCAT: 29.8
cGPA: 3.6
Only accepts in-state applicants (huge plus)

Wake Forest
MCAT: 31.5
cGPA: 3.58
Private school, no in-state advantage

Duke
MCAT: 34.5
cGPA: 3.74
Private school, no in-state advantage

Aside from that, you should be competitive for some middle tier MD schools if you score => 31 on your MCAT and keep up with your extracurriculars. (Your numbers are a bit low for both research and clinical)

When you are ready to apply, I would highly recommend purchasing a copy of the MSAR, it has summaries of admissions statistics for every MD school in the country. Good luck!