some Major concerns

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BlueJumper

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a college freshman attending University of Florida, I'm majoring in Economics and want to get a minor in Actuarial Science.
My question is, how difficult will it be for me to minor in this if my major is already non science related? Is it at all possible to complete the pre-reqs in time?
What are my odds of doing well on the MCAT with this configuration?
My reason for this is that Economics is something I've always been interested in, and if I do not get accepted into medical school or for any other reason can't become an MD, I'd like to be an Actuary.
Anyone here have experience with similar struggles?

Members don't see this ad.

Your odds are reflected in how hard/long/thoroughly you study. You'll have to stretch a bit for pre-reqs within science, but that combined with study guides and tests, should put you on the same playing field as science majors. Major really doesn't matter.

Reactions: 2 users
Are you doing the minor as a back up plan?

Members don't see this ad :)
My reason for this is that Economics is something I've always been interested in, and if I do not get accepted into medical school or for any other reason can't become an MD, I'd like to be an Actuary.

As GiveMeThatMD said, your major doesn't matter. But it's great you're being realistic and have a plan b.

The med school pre-reqs might actually double as electives, if your major allows any lower level (100/200) elective. Also your situation (non science major, filling pre-reqs separately) is quite common. Med schools don't care what you study, as long as you complete the pre-reqs and do well in these classes.

I'm a college freshman attending University of Florida, I'm majoring in Economics and want to get a minor in Actuarial Science.