Some Questions about pharmacy school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dawgg912

jbhnguyen
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a current resident of California and I was considering pharmacy school out of California. If I go to school out of California will I have to take the California board exam if I want to practice in California? I heard awhile back something about the Naplex coming to California? Will it happen soon? I've recently recieved my pcat score of 89% composite and I was wondering how good of a score this was and if this will help me substantially in applying to out of state schools. My g.p.a at UCLA wasn't that hot. I'm hoping that my pcat score will make up for it. I was also wondering about how accelerated programs such as Midwestern work. I heard that midwestern is geared toward retail pharmacy and that if I don't want to do retail, then i shouldn;t consider Midwestern Glendale. I ultimately want to be a Pharm D. at a biotech company. I think they are the pharmacists that teach the pharmaceutical representatives or soemthing. How can I research this profession? Is there a title for that profession? How should I plan my future? Thanks for all the help guys.:)

Members don't see this ad.

There are no more California Board board, just Naplex.

That's a good PCAT score... what's your GPA like? Do you have any work experience? That helps too!

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by dawgg912
I was also wondering about how accelerated programs such as Midwestern work. I heard that midwestern is geared toward retail pharmacy and that if I don't want to do retail, then i shouldn;t consider Midwestern Glendale.
:confused: Who told you that? They need to do some research before they go around spouting such misinformation! And do some of your own research before you believe it.
http://www.midwestern.edu/cpg/