Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

SOP issue: Not enough space

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by 50MinuteHour, Aug 15, 2015.

1. 50MinuteHour

Non-Student
    I'm looking for some feedback. I've been working assiduously on my SOP and I feel it's really difficult to condense my experience, goals, and anecdotes into less than 3 double-spaced pages. Maybe 4-5 is ideal to me. Although it's not exactly a resume reiteration, I have a lot of experience and anecdotes, and I worry that glossing over or omitting information could be hurtful. How have other people with similar issues approached the SOP? I feel like I'm going to have to trim some stuff out.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. futureapppsy2

futureapppsy2 Assistant professor
    Moderator Gold Donor Classifieds Approved 7+ Year Member

You'll have to deal with these same issues for internship apps, grants, and manuscripts. Focus on what's really important in emphasis your fit for that particular program.

4. WisNeuro

WisNeuro Board Certified Neuropsychologist
    Psychologist 7+ Year Member

Psychologist
    The longest I will read is about 2 pages of single space, after that I'm just skimming and you just put way too much effort into it.

5. Therapist4Chnge

Therapist4Chnge Neuropsych Ninja Faculty
    Faculty Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

Psychologist
    Being concise and prioritizing content are important in writing going forward.

CheetahGirl, 50MinuteHour and MamaPhD like this.
  6. PhDToBe

7+ Year Member

Psychologist
    Try not to repeat stuff that is already elaborated upon in your CV.

7. 50MinuteHour

Non-Student