Sound advice sought from other pre-med folks...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tropdoc

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
At the risk of repeating what so many have done before, I would like to get some feedback on my personal profile as a potential medical student at a US school. At present, I have the opportunity to attend a medical school in Central America, although I'm unsure as to whether or not I should take advantage of it.
Here is bascially who I am and where I'm at:
It took me 10 years to get my BA because I kept putting off finishing school in order to do archaeological research in Central America with a National Geographic project. My degree is in anthropology, although all my time in Central America really sparked an interest in me to study medicine (particularly tropical medicine type stuff). Throughout my college, then, I have volunteered at a pathology lab, worked as a medical interpreter, worked as a nursing assistant. I spent 6 months as a research Asst at Harvard Med school. I did a 6 month internship at the National Institutes of Health, and I've continued working in Central America the whole time. Currently, I teach spanish at the high school level.

Herein live the problem. My GPA is horrible. I have a 2.95cum, and I have taken some science classes. I got A's in a couple, but I dropped out one semester to go down south and ended up with F's in Anatomy AND CHEM 1. So those are BIG marks against me (obviously, I will retake them). At this point, I have to do ALL of my prereqs, as well as the MCAT. I'm very concerned about pursuing a postbac program because I don't want to end up 2 years down the road with a degree and a few prereq classes and not get into med school here. I would almost rather just begin the program in Central America (in spanish) instead of the risk of not getting in in 2 years after doing a postbac program.