ssri switch to mania

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

klapmasta

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Maybe this has been covered ad nauseam in past threads, but I thought I'd try to get some discussion going. I'm an psychiatric intern, and we had a grand rounds the other day about anti-depressant switch into mania--something that was beat into my head throughout med school. He presented data from his own research, and had some anecdotal cases of the switch. After, my attending told me he was mostly full of poo, and gave me a meta-analysis from the American Journal of Psychiatry (sept 2004 161:9). The jist is that there's not enough evidence to support this theory for SSRI and MAOI's, but possibly for tricyclics. They found no increased "switch" with SSRI over placebo. They conclude that SSRI is a prudent first-line Tx for bipolar depression.

What do y'all think?

Members don't see this ad.

We had the same discussion in rounds yesterday. The overall switch rate is small compared to what you'd think considering the hype. Around 5% in some studies.

Still, I have switched a few patients into mania in a desperate attempt to alleviate their bipolar depression. Often they didn't tolerate or failed a trial of lamotrigine. It's not pretty when it happens.

Come to think of it, there was a long-ish thread on this. I have to run but maybe someone can do a search.

We had the same discussion in rounds yesterday. The overall switch rate is small compared to what you'd think considering the hype. Around 5% in some studies.

Still, I have switched a few patients into mania in a desperate attempt to alleviate their bipolar depression. Often they didn't tolerate or failed a trial of lamotrigine. It's not pretty when it happens.

Come to think of it, there was a long-ish thread on this. I have to run but maybe someone can do a search.

Did you do that with SSRIs or something else?