Starting over

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mpang

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a working Software Engineer in Canada, I like my job fine but lately (well, like since last year) I have been thinking about going back to school and (try to) become a Veterinarian. I did some research and understand that it's a long hard road to take (not to mention I am starting late), but I believe that I have the determination to do this. Anyway, I think I am short in the biology prerequisites and I don't have much veterinary experience, so I guess my question is how do I go about it? Where to start? What should be my next step?

I live in Edmonton and the closest school that offer veterinary training is University of Calgary, but I am kinda leaning toward University of Prince Edward Island, I checked and I saw the admission requirement is really harsh (i.e. 5 years of veterinary experience?), I am thinking that I should move to Charlottetown to start things off (i.e. finish up all the required courses, prepare for GRE and gain some veterinary experience), it's probably 2-3 years before I apply. Suggestion? How about the program in University of Guelph and University of Saskatchewan?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Well, SOME of the vet experience can certainly be supplemented with other animal-related work... have you held any positions (volunteer or paid) that have involved working with animals?

If you've got a couple of schools in mind, you might want to try contacting their admissions offices, and seeing what they say. Because ultimately, THEY'RE going to be the ones who decide what gets you in and what doesn't.