MD Starting Points! (Kinda Long - All help appreciated)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheKiwiBoatman

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, thanks for clicking in! Really looking forward to all your shared wisdom! I’m primarily after anything you can offer regarding chances, strategy, perhaps school choice and whatever else might be helpful. Again, thank you in advance!!

Here’s a touch about me: I’ve always been very keen, but on the fence, about the idea of medical school. My undergrad GPA wasn’t super flashy (3.15, largely due to the intersection of the insane pressures that my varsity rowing threw at me, a tough major (biomedical eng.) and a massive concussion/back injury during my jr. year).

Two months ago, I completed my masters, also at Brown and in biomedical eng., with a 3.88, and have made up my mind to go after med school. I feel that the masters may have put me back on track to be a strong candidate for med school, but would love to get your thoughts.

As of now, my plan to to hop into a biotech-type job, and spend the next year winding up to tackle the MCAT (I recognize I need to do WELL on it), and the following year to apply, so there’s time!

I understand that in-state residency plays some role - my situation is a little weird - I’m a US/NZ dual citizen, grew up in NZ and moved to the US for college. Whilst both my parents currently live in the US, our financial situation is kind of crazy right now, and neither have their own housing. I’ve been using my aunt’s place in PA as my mailing address for the past 5 years, and may be able to claim RI residency at this point, but not entirely sure.

The below is a near-complete spread of my past and present endeavors - Again, I am so appreciative of any and all advice y’all could share with me - thank you so much!

-ML

Education:

High School: Saint Kentigern College - Auckland NZ