stas for ob/gyn

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neilc

1K Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
i have been wondering what stats are getting people spots in ob/gyn programs. i am a foreign student, so if there are any recent grads that have obtained residency it would be great if you would share stats (grades, usmle, etc...)

any info from any intern, resident or practicing ob/gyn would be great.

thanks

Members don't see this ad.

The residency programs score by a point system taking into account each aspect of the eras application.
School
grades
board scores (passing USMLE most schools look for 200+)
RESEARCH!!
letters of rec.
VOLUNTEER WORK
PUBLICATIONS
HONORS in med school
TEACHING experience
WORK experience

the CAPs are areas you should work on now. For research abstracts and poster presentations at university and national meetings are always available. Volunteer esp in underserved settings and in the OB/Gyn field (STD clinic), many schools have preventative medicine officers etc.

What one ultimately looks at is the big picture sure grades and board scores may be important but programs want a personable person one that will go 110% and be a team-leader.

A book I found quite useful was Iserson's getting into a residency
ISBN 1-883620-27-9. Details all residencies.

Of note is what to do to obtain a good letter of reference how to prepare a effective personal statement, what residency directors seek most of an applicant.

Let us know your progress and if you need more guidance.
Thank you for your question.
:) Diane L. Evans

what a great reply! thanks for taking the time, and i must say that you just exude an outstanding attitude.