BOTH Step 2 without FM for EM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

schwasted589

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've heard EM residencies want to see a step 2 score and older students have told me to try to take it earlier vs waiting until June/July of 3rd year so that scores could be in and I could schedule my first audition and get an SLOR July/August.

I don't have FM until June. Is that a problem? I'll have all my other cores done and was going to do a radiology/anesthesiology rotation in May while I studied for the step 2. Not smart?

thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Your score won't take all that long to come back (... hopefully, mine took nearly 2 months because I got caught in the gap last year), so if you take Step 2 after you are done with your clinical rotations you should be fine. I'm in IM so I didn't do an away rotation, so I cannot speak to this. However, If you want to take it before you are done with FM I would say it is possible, but caution you that you will be doing a clerkship while studying (which I know is the same 4th year but sometimes the expectations/standards are different). The positive note to this is that FM is not "overly-represented" on step 2 (in my opinion there is no FM on Step 2), and there are not great resources out there for the FM shelf ( there is a casefiles. I skimmed it. Looked decent) so what I did was read FA for Step 2CK instead. So-- short story long-- yes, this is doable, ( and hopefully your radiology/anesthesiology rotation is not too time intensive) and you probably don't need your FM experience for it.

Reactions: 1 user