Step 3 experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chizwheel

Urology Resident
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I just finished my Step 3 a week ago and I thought I'd share my experiences since I used this forum so much to help me out.

Just fyi:
I studied for about 2.5 weeks, I used First Aid and USMLEWORLD plus that CD that came when you registered.

The test is 2 days and 8 hours per day alotted although you may not use the entire time. The first day is 7 blocks of 48 questions for which you are given 1 hour per block. The second day consisted of 4 additional blocks of 36 questions for which I had 45 minutes to complete. Then that was followed by 9 clinical scenarios for which you have 25 minutes per scenario.

I felt the test was about 50% general questions. These questions are the typical what would you do next, what is your treatment or diagnostic approach type questions in the basic fields covered by Step III. These questions are the ones that if you study a review book and do questions, you will improve.

The remaining half I thought was divided into about 35% specialty specific questions and 15% bizarre questions. The specialty specific questions were questions that are far more detailed then one would expect from the Step III and asked your management of things that are specific to fields like dermatology, pediatrics, OB/GYN, ENT, ophthalmology, psychiatry, etc. I felt the best way to describe this type of question is that in order to answer it, you either have to be in that field or remember it from your MS-II or MS-III year. Outside of that, I felt that no amount of studying books or doing question would adequately cover the variability and detail of these types of questions.